Just another WordPress.com site

My Wow Moment:

When I figured out how much power I could have.

When Werbach said that as advertisers we could change the way companies make their products, I got a warm feeling in my stomach. To actually dare to ask a client to change the way they do business before starting on a major campaign? I would never have dared! It makes perfect sense though. As an advertiser, of course you would want a company starting a green campaign to actually be green, otherwise both you and the client could get in serious trouble. But to actually ask a client to make their products greener or the sake of helping their public opinion. That is something I never would have thought to do as an advertiser.

People helping people, that may be the actual big picture that I take away from this class. It isn’t that some companies want to hurt the environment or just don’t care, the problem is education. What ever I now know from this class I can take with me into a client meetings and share with them, because that is the only way this is all going to work, if we speak up and help each other. My client may not know about options for more sustainable packaging, or how much they could save by putting in more windows in their factories, but I know, and I have the power and opportunity to help my clients understand that being sustainable could mean saving money, not just spending it. Wow.

Leave a Reply

